Albion Sports v Trojans


The two sides on show at Throstles Nest usually serve up some entertaining fare , with last seasons games involving sixteen goals and the reverse fixture this featuring six more. This one didn’t disappoint either…

The hosts took the lead in the tenth minute when Lamin Janneh tapped home into an empty net after the ball had ricocheted to him after Connor Williamson and Matty Leese had combined well to stop an earlier effort. The Trojans rallied however and were level just past the half hour mark when Cameron Johnson was felled inside the box allowing Adam Baskerville to step up and dispatch the resultant penalty.

Parity didn’t last long however as four minutes later Baskerville, after executing what looked like a perfectly timed tackle was adjudged to have committed a foul and from the resultant free kick a corner was won, which was headed home at the far post by Samuel Denton. The half continued with Staveley creating the lions share of the chances but they went in 2-1 down at the break.

2-1 became 3-1 just a minute after the start of the second half when Sumalli Cissa took advantage of a defensive mistake. Again, Staveley created enough opportunities to win several games and gave themselves a chance of getting something from the game two minutes from time via another Adam Baskerville penalty, and could’ve equalised before the end but unfrtunateley it just would not go in.

Final score: Albion Sports 3 – 2 Staveley MWFC

The Reserves entertained top of the table Harworth Colliery and managed to grab a very creditable point at Inkersall Road…which is the venue for the next Staveley related football action on Monday 15th January and sees our Under 21 side take on Sheffield FC which has a 7:45pm kick off and later in the week its derby day when Clay Cross Town visit on Thursday 18th January which also kicks off at 7:45pm

entrance to both of those games is priced at £2:Adults, £1: Concessions with Under 16s getting in for free.


Leave a Reply

© Copyright Staveley Miners Welfare Football Club 2016 - 2020